My First Steps Into a Larger World

Mara Jade

Welcome to my new experiment.

My experiment where I try to read every Star Wars novel ever written, and write about each book as I go.

When I made the decision to try to read every Star Wars book from the now-abolished Expanded Universe (a task that still feels unrealistic to me) I was originally going to read them in in-universe chronological order, starting with Dawn of the Jedi: Into the Void which takes place 25,000 years before A New Hope, and ending with Crucible, which takes place 45 years after. As I was about to start, I made a last-second change of decision and decided to read them in publication order instead, so I could experience the growth of the Expanded Universe the same way so many other Star Wars fans did. So, I went over to my Star Wars bookcase and pulled out Star Wars: From the Adventures of Luke Skywalker, the novelization of the first Star Wars movie, Episode IV: A New Hope. I had read this book before, and wasn’t too thrilled with the idea of reading a book I’d already read, when there are nearly 200 other books I have yet to read. But after reading it for my second time, I was glad I made that decision.

After that, my Expanded Universe reading got interrupted because I decided I also wanted to read everything I could from the new Star Wars canon before Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Awakens premiers in theaters. So, on top of wanting to read every Expanded Universe book, which is already an absurd amount of books, I added a whole bunch of other books on to my reading list.

A New Hope coverI always planned on publishing my review of Star Wars: From the Adventures of Luke Skywalker first, as it was the first Star Wars book ever written. But, with the new movie coming out, I figured there are probably a lot of people out there like me who are curious about these new books that have been released as part of a series called “Journey to Star Wars: The Force Awakens“. So, for the next couple months I will be talking about these newer books, in preparation for The Force Awakens. After that, I’ll switch back to my original plan and post about the old Expanded Universe novels.

Feel free to comment and let me know what you think about the novels that each of my posts are about, and let me know why you think my opinions are bad.

This is for all the Star Wars fans out there who love the books as much as I do. For me, my favorite thing about Star Wars wasn’t the movies, but the Expanded Universe stories that came after. Whether I actually make it all the way through the EU or not remains to be seen, but I will keep this going for as long as I can. I hope you enjoy my thoughts.

-Victor

Leave a Reply

